Week #3: For Cod’s Sake

This has not been a good week guys, I’ve gained back all the weight I had lost so I am up another 0.8 lbs taking it back to my original starting point. (This may or may not have anything to do with the McRib I had yesterday…) I’m not exactly over the moon about it but hopefully I can lose something this week! Upwards and onwards, right?

DAY #5

“Breakfast” 12:04pm – Cinnamon Porridge with Soya Milk (158 kcal)

I was meant to have this with bananas but I didn’t have any in the house, total bummer. It didn’t seem like a lot of food at all when I made this up and I tried to eat this as slowly as possible to make it seem like there was more to it but I didn’t do a grand job of that either. Though this is surprising holding me up for longer than I had expected.

1:00pmTea with Soya Milk (15kcal)

Super Late Lunch 4:55pm  – Moroccan Baked Eggs (170 kcal)

I’d be waiting all day for the boiler fixer to come round so that’s one of the reasons why I had an uber ate lunch and I’m finally not living in an igloo anymore! Hurrah. This was actually super tasty, though I didn’t have any ras-el-hanout on hand that the recipe required so I just chucked in a bunch of spices that I thought were kinda close to it, so I used black pepper, cumin, cinnamon and ground coriander. I ate this so quickly — as you can guess since I hadn’t eaten since 12. It was just what I needed to warm myself up and I love a runny yolk all creamy and delish! Though I wished I had chopped the garlic finer. Biting into garlic chunks is not the one.

Dinner – Cod Provençal (247 kcal)

So this is my first time cooking fish and I am strictly following this recipe with military precision because cooking fish makes me nervous even if it is just a fillet. The vegetables weren’t cooked enough for my liking and I wasn’t entirely sure the fish was fully cooked because it wasn’t opaque opaque and it was really soft but I didn’t make me sick so I guess it was actually cooked??! I didn’t finish the dish and there was a lot of left over onion and it just didn’t live up to my expectations. Bah. Disappointed.

DAY #6

Breakfast 7:00am – Cinnamon Porridge with Soya Milk (158 kcal)

I’m finally eating breakfast at a normal time which as you guys know is very unusual for me but I had to be somewhere hence the early rise. I didn’t have enough soya milk for this so when I zapped it in the microwave it was a little more sludgy than usual. Not terrible but I just needed any sustenance before I left the house so I wasn’t too bothered by it.

Lunch 11:30am – Tuna Mayo Sandwich (239 kcal)

I am so so so hungry and there doesn’t seem to be very many options in the shop that are low cal and not disgusting. I decided on a tuna sammich and for something on white bread I thought the calorie content was reasonable so I just went with it. Then I realised why the calorie content is so low is because there is no butter or any kind of food lube on the bread. It was the driest thing I’ve ever bitten in to but I was so hungry I just had to persevere and gulp it down with water.

codprovencal

Dinner 7:00pm – Cod Provençal (247 kcal)

Considering how disastrous yesterday’s attempt was I was seriously thinking of making something else but I also had no clue what I could make that wasn’t a gazillion calories. I decided to give it another try and low and behold it came out beautiful — if I do say so myself. This time I decided to go with my gut instinct and to cook the veg for longer and leave the onion out cos I’m not bout that life and instead of just squeezing the juice of the lemon over the fish I just left the slices on the fillet as it cooked. I was anxious this wasn’t going to taste nice so I came prepared with sauce, Nando’s medium peri peri to be exact (3 kcal per tablespoon) but I didn’t need much of it in the end! Really really pleased with how this turned out.

Fruit Time 7:40pm – 2 Slices of Pineapple (84 kcal)

I know I’m supposed to avoid fruits that are high in sugar when I’m fasting but I couldn’t resist this! And the fridge needed to be cleared out to make room for more stuff sooooo that’s an acceptable reason right?

I recently bought recipe books that should hopefully help me out a bit more with my meal plans so I’m looking forward to having a flick through those!

Leave a Reply

