Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhoodoftheworldaward

Sure feels like award season here, if only there was a red carpet and we could dress up (who am I kidding I have full blown make up and hair done, ready to be called up to the podium) annnnnywaaaaay, my imagination is getting the better of me. I have been nominated by the lovely Rosh for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award, so thank you lovely!

Here are the rules of the award:

Thank the blogger who nominated you & linking back to their site.

  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  • Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Nominate seven bloggers who you feel deserve the award.

Onwards to the Q&A!

1. Who has inspired you to start blogging?

I’m not entirely sure to be honest I mean I have to say I got into the whole thing through watching beauty reviews on youtube and then finding links to the vloggers blogs that way, I think the very first I saw were Lily Pebbles and Vivianna does Makeup but I’m particularly inspired by The Sunday Girl and her writing, which I find is engaging, friendly which makes a review more interesting to read.

2. What was your favourite make up trend of 2014?

Contouring, it’s dramatically improved my face by 134%.

3. Would you ever start your own Youtube channel? If so, what would it be about?

Hmmmm I don’t know! Erm, part of me really wants to do it but then I clam up and get self conscious, after all I’ve never been a huge fan of being in pictures so vlogging is a whole different ball game to tackle. Maybe, one day. Though I feel like I’m getting too old for the vlogging scene anyway ha! (does anyone else read ‘ha!’ in Edna Krabappel’s voice?)

4. If you could give one tip to an aspiring blogger, what would it be?

Be you. Really. I know it sounds so cliché, maybe even obvious but there’s absolutely millions and millions of beauty/fashion/lifestyle blogs out there and if you are keen to get yours to stand out in the sea of blogs show your personality and don’t be afraid of voicing your true thoughts, feelings, quirks, you want people to read your stuff, not just quickly sneak a peak at swatches or pretty photos, though that can draw attention to it. (Look at me talking as if I’ve been doing this for years!) Content is king and you need to beef it up a little you know? There are so many blogs I have come across that just lack passion (and words) and if you want to be taken seriously you need to show that in your posts. I mean I’m not gonna lie, like sometimes I struggle to get a word out (surprising! I know) but you need to connect to your reader somehow.

With a blog there are so many streams of creatively you can explore and play to your strengths! Is it writing? Photography? Web design/Coding? Starting this blog truly made me realise how much I enjoyed writing, I have always dreaded essays and academic writing at school but with this it comes so easily to me and I find it really enjoyable! So don’t be afraid of sticking out, you don’t want wanna be basic!

5. Who is your biggest style inspiration?

My biggest style inspiration comes from a mix of people, I’ve never really idolised a single person over their style because I’ve always enjoyed taking the bits I like from all over and mashing it together. Style is a vehicle for expressing your personality and I’ve always been a fan of those who are fearless in their choices and stand by them when trends roll in and out every season. To me, style is something you make your own, of course you will have outside influences but most of the fun is figuring out what you like and what look makes you, you.

If you had to pin me down on a straight answer, I think my style has somewhat stemmed from street style — not the shit you see in your glossies now. Some of my favourite street style blogs I obsessed over when I was younger are Hel Looks, The Satorialist and Facehunter. I was young, impressionable and dying to be around something truly original and my god I’ve rocked some horrific shit but at the time it made me feel invincible, as silly as it sounds that the power of dressing can give you a confidence like that but it worked for me. (Not really a straight answer but it’s as good as it’s gonna get.)

6. Your most favourite food?

Everybody should visit On the Bap in London at least once and get the fried chicken, honest to god I would sell a kidney to eat there again. It’s amazing, I wish I could live in their kitchen. Even the salad is good, and I don’t joke about that shit. You know it’s a good restaurant if I like the salad. I know I’m raving about fried chicken but is there really anything better than that? And that fried chicken is the best I’ve ever had. I literally cannot recommend it enough! Sweet baby jesus, I’m making myself hungry. Oh and if you love your falafel, Eat a Pitta in Bristol is the best. (Yes, the salad is good. Very good.) This is not a plug i swear, I am in no way affiliated with either delicious food palaces (but I wish I was, tear.)

7. What would you say is the one thing you want to achieve in the next 5 years?

I really hope I would of moved out of the family home by then. Please universe, be kind to me!

8. What is your favourite make up product?

Foundation, I was weeping with happiness when I discovered a product that could hide all my hyper pigmentation and scarring at the tender age of 15.

9. What are your top online fashion sites to buy from?

Hmmmm, good question, I haven’t actually purchased clothes online for absolutely ages because I’ve had bad experiences (cough) ASOS (cough). Buutttttt I order from Topshop online when I spot a bargain I didn’t see in store/or a product isn’t available at a local store, American Apparel, also great cos they’re always sending discount codes in their newsletters. If money were no object, I would love to order a rack full of clothes from Ann-Sofie Back. I guess I’m old fashioned and I like seeing my clothes in real life.

10. Describe your perfect weekend

and then ordering 20 chicken nuggets for myself. It’s acceptable at 4am. Annnnddd the next day is filled with vows of “I’m never drinking again” and running back and forth to throw up in the toilet. If I’m lucky.

I nominate the following bloggers;

Little Bit Soph
Hiccups and Hounds
The Conscience Fund
Tadana Banana
Kate Kiwii
A Growing Petal
Beauty Way of Life

And here are my questions for you;

1. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why?

2. Chocolate or cheese?

3. What were/are your favourite subjects at school?

4. What is your favourite make up product ever?

5. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

6. Who are your dream dinner guests (alive or dead)?

7. What is the last thing you watched?

8. Favourite cartoon growing up?

9. Best advice you’ve ever received?

10. What is the worst/least enjoyable part of your skincare or make up routine?

3 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Leave a Reply

